Awards are intended to recognize members of the organization that have gone above and beyond the call of duty to support students in New York State and advance the mission of NYSACAC. Awards are presented annually at the NYSACAC Annual Conference. 

Congratulations to our 2023 Award Winners!
Please use the below links to learn more about each award and see the list of past winners.
President's Award
This NYSACAC award is presented to an individual who, over a period of years, has performed outstanding service to NYSACAC, to our profession, and to the community.
Year Award Recipient Name

Award Recipient Institution

2023 Erica Padilla University of Rochester
2022 Jane Mathias Nardin Academy
2021 Stephanie Espina Adelphi University
2020 Dave Follick Nassau Community College
2019 Peter Hagan Syracuse University
2018 David Coates Coates College Consulting
2017 Dr. Timothy Lee SUNY University at Albany
2016 Kent Rinehart Marist College
2015 Mary Lou Bates Skidmore College
2014 Greg Wasserman The Wheatley School
2013 Carl "Sandy" Behrend Orchard Park High School (retired)
2012 Susan Davidson The Cooper Union 
2011 Michael Acquilano Staten Island Academy 
2010 Sean P. Kaylor Marist College 
2009 Richard Alvarez City University of New York
2008 Lisa Sohmer  Garden School 
2007 Janet Pacifico  John J. High School 
2006 Susan Donovan  Syracuse University 
2005 Scott Hooker  Alfred University 
2004 Beryl S. Jeffers  SUNY Metropolitan Recruitment Center 
2003 Barry Ward  Manhattanville College 
2002 Geoff Gould  SUNY Binghamton (retired) 
2001 Mary Ann Reichhardt  Rye Country Day School 
2000 Joan Zinner  Garden School 
1999 Hugh Johnson  Pittsford Middle School 
1998 Larry Appel  Sullivan County Community College 
1997 Joie' Ray-Alexander  SUNY System Administration 
1996 Rodney Morrison  University of Rochester 
1995 Jose Flores  Manhattanville College 

Distinguished Service Award: College
This NYSACAC award recognizes an individual employed at a college for their exceptional service to our profession.

Year Award Recipient Name Award Recipient Institution
2023 Craig Broccoli Binghamton University
2022 Lauren Sangimino Stony Brook University
2021 Joanna Kucharski CUNY
2020 Bryan Rothstein Hofstra University
2019 Meylin Andares State University of New York (SUNY)
2018 Sarah Ireland Skidmore College
2017 Tom Bloss Ithaca College
2016 Donna Schaffner Utica College
2015 Charlotte Tefft Syracuse University
2014 Susan Reantillo NYU Polytechnic School of Engineering
2013 Peter Johnson Columbia University
2012 Denny Nicholson LeMoyne College
2011 Stacey Lederman St. John Fisher College
2010 Dr. Patricia Peek Fordham University
2009 John Young Hobart & William Smith Colleges
2008 Tom DaRin Nazareth College
2007 Fran Berstein SUNY Buffalo
2006 Catherine Delorenzo Skidmore College
2005 Richard Bory Cooper Union
2004 Kitty McCarthy SUNY System Administration
2003 Marcy Kraus University of Rochester
2002 John Buckley Fordham University
2001 Dianne Crozier Union College
2000 Joanna Broda Pace University
1999 Peter Jordan College of Aeronautics
1998 Paula Mitchell Ithaca College
1997 Mary Lou Bates Skidmore College
1996 Mary Claire Bauer Canisius College
1995 Ann Fleming Brown Union College

Distinguished Service Award: Community Based Organization (CBO)
This NYSACAC award recognizes an individual employed at a CBO for their exceptional service to our profession.

Year Award Recipient Name Award Recipient Institution
2023 John Roure College Bound Initiative
2022 No recipient  
2021 Kory McBride New Visions for Public Schools
2020 Robyn German Phillips The Urban Assembly
2019 Sandy Jimenez Goddard Riverside Options Center

Distinguished Service Award: High School
This NYSACAC award recognizes an individual employed at a high school for their exceptional service to our profession.
Year Award Recipient Name Award Recipient Institution
2023 Mark Mason Nottingham High School
2022 Annemarie Cervoni Orchard Park High School
2021 Maria Franqui Urban Assembly School for Leadership
& Empowerment
2020 Luis Barcelo Pelham Memorial High School
2019 Ummi Modeste-Rogerson City-As-School High School
2018 Kevin Brooks Bronx Academy of Letters 
2017 Mitchell L. Thompson, Jr. Scarsdale High School 
2015 Pauline Brookfield Marymount School 
2014 Kent Jones Emma Willard School 
2013 Annie Brickel FLAGS High School (retired) 
2012 Jane Mathias Nardin Academy
2011 Jeff Makris High School of Economics & Finance 
2010 Heidi Green Fayetteville-Manlius High School 
2009 Ann Wallace Rye Neck Schools 
2008 Jan Goldstein  Solomon-Schechter School
2007 Marlene Muscanera  The Mary Louis Academy 
2006 Mike Roche  School Without Walls 
2005 Marjorie Jacobs  Scarsdale High School 
2004 Ralph Donnell  Clarkstown High School South 
2003 Rose Ellen Racanefi  Scarsdale High School 
2002 Tom Yanno  East Syracuse-Minoa High School 
2001 Jeff Spielvogel  Francis Lewis High School 
2000 Katie Mason  Rush-Henrietta Senior High School 
1999 Roslyn Sternlieb  Grover Cleveland High School 
1998 Judith Klemperer  Herbert H. Lehman High School 
1997 Penny Oberg  Horace Greeley High School 
1996 Hazel Tischoff  Edward R. Murrow High School 
1995 Patty Taylor Bronxville High School
1993 Carl "Sandy" Behrend Orchard Park High School

Inclusion, Access, and Success Award
(formerly known as the Human Relations Award)
The Inclusion, Access, and Success award is given to an individual or program that champions the issues of access, and making post-secondary opportunities available to historically underrepresented students. 
Year Award Recipient Name Award Recipient Institution
2023 Briana Avery
Emmanuel Moses

Dream Charter High School
The Opportunity Network

2022 Karen Archibee
Danielle Robinson

SUNY Oswego
SUNY Maritime

2021 Estrella Redondo Mary Mount Manhattan College
2020 Aaron Ray Skidmore College
2019 Jonathan Hoster Syracuse University
2018 Jo Anne Phang Syracuse University
2017 Tom Nesbitt SUNY Potsdam
2016 Kristen Harris NYC Department of Education
2015 Marie Nocella Siena College
2014 James Agnello Bronxville High School
2013 Cassie Magesis The Urban Assembly
2012 Chris Farmer Young Women's Leadership School of East Harlem
2011 Bill Short St. Lawrence University
2010 Susan Cohen The Cooper Union
2009 Karen Staller Lawrence High School
2008 Beryl S. Jeffers SUNY Metropolitan Recruitment Center
2007 Christopher Milton SUNY Buffalo State College
2006 Brian Petraitis College Board
2005 Mitchell Thompson Scarsdale High School
2004 Lonnie Morrison Syracuse University
2003 Angel Perez High School for Economics & Finance
2002 Sean Callaway Center for Urban Education/Pace University
2001 Carla Shere The Riverside Church in the City of New York

Rising Star Award
The Rising Star Award honors individuals and programs that exemplify excellence and dedication to serving the needs of students in the transition from high school to college. Preference will be given to those who have worked in the field for no more than five years. They must be new members who are striving to make a difference within the association through their work in committees. The winner of the NYSACAC Rising Star Award will automatically be the NYSACAC nominee for the NACAC Rising Star Award.

Year Award Recipient Name Award Recipient Institution
2023 Tyree Vann St. John's University
2022 Tyler Anderson Bethlehem Central School
2021 Betty Chen East Harlem Tutorial Program
2020 Emily Task New Visions for Public Schools
2020 Julia Foreman New Visions for Public Schools
2019  Robert Kaercher Byron-Bergen Jr/Sr High School 
2018  Estrella Redondo Marymount Manhattan College 
2017  Daryl Hornick-Becker CUNY Welcome Center 
2017  Brian Culligan SUNY Welcome Center 
2016  Bryan Rothstein Adelphi University 
2015  Alexandra Tramposch Niagara University 
2014  Lisa Searle Ithaca College 
2013  Casey Pedrick Stuyvesant High School